South Dorset MP and Landlord Voted Against Making Homes Fit For Human Habitation

According to Parliament’s register of interests, Richard Drax was one 72 MPs who voted against the amendment who themselves are landlords and who derive an income over £10000 from a property. He was one of 312 Conservative MP’s who voted against a Labour amendment.Teresa Pearce, the then shadow housing minister who proposed the amendment, said renters lacked “basic consumer protection” when things went wrong.

In the wake of the Grenfell Tower tragedy this has become much more pertinent and we now await what the investigation finds. Most landlords are of course quick to respond to tenant needs but they are not legally obliged to ensure that habitation is of a certain standard. This therefore enables some landlords to take advantage and leaves many tenants in distress trying to fight for better living spaces.

Mr Drax and and his party, including other Conservative MP’s in Dorset, are not only letting tenants down but could be at least in part responsible for this tragedy. By having strict laws in place landlords would be obligated with the threat of heavy fines or even imprisonment if they do not comply. 

We await with interest whether the landlord at Grenfell negated their responsibilities and whether a statute could have prevented it.

Douglas James

The 72 MP’s who are landlords (earning over £10000):

According to Parliament’s register of interests, the 72 MPs who are registered as deriving income from property of over £10,000 a year  and who voted against the law are:

Nigel Adams

Stuart Andrew

Victoria Atkins

Jake Berry

James Berry

Bob Blackman

Robert Buckland

Alun Cairns

David Cameron

Alex Chalk

James Cleverley

Geoffrey Clifton-Brown

Therese Coffey

Geoffrey Cox

Mims Davies

Philip Davies

Richard Drax

James Duddridge

Alan Duncan

Philip Dunne

Jane Ellison

George Eustice

Mike Freer

Richard Fuller

John Glen

Robert Goodwill

Chris Grayling

Dominic Grieve

Chris Heaton-Harris

Peter Heaton-Jones

George Hollingberry

Kevin Hollinrake

Philip Hollobone

Nick Hurd

Stewart Jackson

Margot James

Sajid Javid

Joseph Johnson

Simon Kirby (teller)

Greg Knight

Brandon Lewis

Julian Lewis

Craig Mackinlay

Tania Mathias

Karl McCartney

Anne Marie Morris

Sheryll Murray

Robert Neill

Sarah Newton (teller)

Jesse Norman

David Nuttall

Neil Parish

Owen Paterson

Rebecca Pow

Jeremy Quin

Jacob Rees-Mogg

Laurence Robertson

Julian Smith

Royston Smith

Mark Spencer

John Stevenson

Desmond Swayne

Derek Thomas

Anne-Marie Trevelyan

Andrew Turner

Shailesh Vara

Theresa Villiers

Ben Wallace

David Warburton

Craig Whittaker

John Whittingdale

Nadhim Zahawi